News & Events
News Thumb Example
Consumer News
ATA Honors Texas’s Esparza with President’s TAEC Award Award Recognizes Outstanding Service to the Trucking Industry
Posted on April, 13, 2016
Texas Trucking Association President John Esparza was named the 14th recipient of the American Trucking Associations’ President's Trucking Association Executives Council Leadership Award during the group's annual Management Conference & Exhibition. "Throughout the industry, John has a reputation for being the kind of person you always want on your team. We are all very fortunate to have him on our team and in our industry," said ATA Second Vice Chairman Kevin Burch, president of Jet Express Inc., Dayton, Ohio. "His work as an advocate for trucking reflects his character as someone who is enthusiastic and committed to the members and industry he serves."

In addition, Esparza was recognized for his efforts on the industry’s image. His leadership in Texas led to a $50,000 pledge to Trucking Moves America Forward from the Texas Trucking Foundation. He is also a driving force behind image efforts in his state hosting the America’s Road Team and Share the Road show trucks at the Texas Day at the Capital, annually bringing a strong group of members to Call on Washington, and frequently addressing the media and public as the face of trucking in Texas.

"Success in Texas is no small task and John’s work in this large, productive state with an international border has an impact on not just the United States, but throughout North America. He uses professionalism and a strong work ethic to provide great benefits to his members and all of ATA and this award is well-deserved," said Barry "Spook" Stang, chairman of the Trucking Association Executives Council and executive vice president of the Motor Carriers of Montana. TAEC is comprised of staff executives of state trucking associations and conferences affiliated with the American Trucking Associations. TAEC serves to promote the trucking industry; contribute to the improvement of the associations and organizations established to serve the trucking industry; and advance the professional stature and capabilities of the managers and executives of such associations. The President’s TAEC Leadership Award was created by ATA and sponsored by J.J. Keller in 2002 to honor a state trucking association leader and to create an enduring legacy for that leader and for the industry. The award comes with a $10,000 grant for a non-profit 501(c)(3) trucking education or research organization chosen by Esparza.
Can't find what you're looking for, or just want to talk to someone?      
Contact Us